UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN
539 THEODORE LEVIN UNITED STATES COURTHOUSE
231 W. LAFAYETTE BOULEVARD
DETROIT, MICHIGAN 48226
www.mied.uscourts.gov

DAVID J. WEAVER

COURT ADMINISTRATOR 313-234-5051 Fax 313-234-5399 DIVISIONAL OFFICES ANN ARBOR BAY CITY FLINT PORT HURON

News Release

For Immediate Release

May 6, 2020

FEDERAL COURT NAMES NEW MAGISTRATE JUDGES

Chief Judge Denise Page Hood announced today that the Court has selected Kimberly G. Altman and Curtis Ivy, Jr. for appointment as United States Magistrate Judges for the Eastern District of Michigan.

Ms. Altman is a resident of Rochester Hills, Michigan. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Michigan State University and her Juris Doctor from Wayne State University Law School. She is currently a career law clerk for Senior Judge Avern Cohn. Upon successful completion of a background investigation, Ms. Altman will sit in Detroit, Michigan where she will fill the magistrate judge vacancy created by the retirement of Magistrate Judge Mona K. Majzoub.

Mr. Ivy is a resident of Montgomery, Alabama. He obtained his undergraduate degree from Eastern Michigan University and his Juris Doctor from the University of Mississippi School of Law. He is currently Senior Litigation Counsel for the United States Attorney's Office for the Middle District of Alabama. Upon successful completion of a background investigation, Mr. Ivy will sit in Flint, Michigan where he will fill the magistrate judge vacancy created by the elevation to Article III judgeship by Judge Stephanie Dawkins Davis.

Ms. Altman was one of five persons recommended by a Court-appointed Merit Selection Panel from among more than 150 applicants. The Panel members included Chair Alex L. Parrish, and Attorneys Jeffrey G. Collins, David F. DuMouchel, Elizabeth L. Jacobs, Peter M. Kellett, Robert F. Kinney, III, Saima Mohsin, Francisco Villarruel, Natasha Webster and Rita White, as well as non-Attorneys Phil Schloop, Linda Spight, and Dr. Patricia Wilkerson-Uddyback.

Mr. Ivy was one of five persons recommended by a separate Court-appointed Merit Selection Panel from among more than 150 applicants. The Panel members included Chair Edward H. Pappas, and Attorneys Audrey Forbush, George A. Googasian, Charles A. Grossman, David A. Koelzer, Jessica R. Mainprize-Hajek, Michael P. Manley, Michael Martin, Christopher McGrath, Glenn M. Simmington and Trachelle White, as well as non-Attorneys Reta Stanley and Cliff Turner.

Ms. Altman and Mr. Ivy's names have been forwarded to the Administrative Office of the United States Courts in Washington, D.C. which will initiate the required background investigations by the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Internal Revenue Service. Upon the successful completion of those investigations, they will be sworn in as magistrate judges.