
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

United States District Court Eastern District of Michigan, Flint Division

SUMMONS FOR JURY SERVICE
Bring this summons with you when reporting for jury duty

TERM OF SERVICE: on call for two weeks 
beginning 

Starting after 6:00 pm the night before the date above, you must 
confirm your reporting instructions daily by calling 1-800-755-5879 
or via the eJuror web page from www.mied.uscourts.gov.

LOCATION: Jury Assembly Room 
Federal Building 
600 Church St. 
Flint, Michigan 48502
(313) 234-5085

Failure to respond and/or appear as directed may result in a fine of not more than $1,000, 
or imprisonment for not more than three (3) days, or community service, or any combination thereof.

Use your 9-digit 
Participant Number 
to access your 
information when 
you check in. 

Questions? 
Read the information 
included with this summons 
for further instructions.

The U.S. Constitution 
guarantees all people the 
right to trial by an impartial jury. 
The law requires your service.

1). Complete the questionnaire. 
Federal law requires that you complete a Juror Qualification Questionnaire within TEN DAYS of receiving this summons. 
Submit your answers online using our secure electronic jury system, eJuror, at www.mied.uscourts.gov. 

2). Confirm your status and receive your reporting instructions. 
After 6:00 p.m. the night before your term of service begins, confirm your reporting instructions by one of two ways:

• Access the eJuror web page from www.mied.uscourts.gov.
• Call 1-800-755-5879. Listen to the entire message.

You will need to enter your 9-digit participant number (from the tear card above) to access your information. 

4). Report to jury duty when instructed to do so.
Please note that all persons and their belongings are subject to security screening when entering the courthouse.  
You must present one form of photo identification. Directions to the Courthouse are on the back of this summons.

3). Continue to check in.
Check your status via phone or internet each evening until you are instructed to report or informed that your service is over.

INSTRUCTIONS:
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PARKING

The parking facilities closest to the 
courthouse are the Rutherford Garage  
(W. Kearsley & Beach St.) and the City 
of Flint Public Parking Lot (E. Kearsley 
&  Saginaw St.).  Rates are $5 to $10 
per day.  The Rutherford Garage 
requires a credit card to enter and exit. 
The public lot accepts only cash.

Do not park on the street or at a 
parking meter. You will not have 
time to leave the courthouse to pay 
meter charges and the Court is not 
responsible for parking violations.

The Court assumes no responsibility 
for damage to or theft from any car 
while  parked at any facility or lot. A 
claim for  damages or loss must be 
settled  between you and the parking 
firm.

REQUIRED ITEMS
• Government issued photo ID
• This summons form

PROHIBITED ITEMS
• Firearms
• Pocket knives
• Other weapons
• Any device that can be used for:

• Sound recording
• The taking of photographic or

video images
• Jurors may bring cell phones into

the courthouse but they must be
turned off at all times.  Judges
have the option to prohibit
cellphones in their courtroom.

ATTIRE
Please use good judgment when 
dressing for jury duty. Conservative 
dress is recommended.
Not appropriate:

• T-shirts • Shorts
• Tank tops • Flip-flops
• Sweat pants • Plunging
• Sweatshirts/ necklines 

hoodies

DIRECTIONS TO THE 
U.S. DISTRICT COURTHOUSE
I-69 (East or West):
Exit at Saginaw St., Downtown. The service drive crosses Church St., which is a 
one-way northbound street. Turn on to Church St.

I-475 (North or South):
Exit Court St., Downtown. Court St. is a one-way street. Proceed to Church St., 
Turn right on Church St.

I-75/US-23:
Travelers beyond north and south junctions of I-475 should follow the directions of I-475.
Otherwise follow directions for I-69.

PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION RESOURCES
Mass Transportation Authority of Flint: mtaflint.org

U.S. District Court
600 Church St.

Rutherford Parking Garage
125 W. Kearsley St.
(at corner of Beach St.)

Public Parking
125 E. Kearsley St.
(at corner of Saginaw St.)
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United States District Court Eastern District of Michigan, Flint Division 

JUROR INFORMATION 
YOU MUST COMPLETE A JUROR QUALIFICATION QUESTIONNAIRE 
Respond within 10 days of receipt of your summons. 
You are legally obligated to complete the questionnaire, regardless of whether you have moved or are requesting an excuse, 
disqualification or postponement from jury service. 

To complete the questionnaire online: 
Go to www.mied.uscourts.gov. Click on the eJuror link found on the left hand side under “Online Services.” 
You can complete the questionnaire from any internet access point, including your smartphone. 

Once you access the Court’s website: 

1. Select the eJuror tab on the left side 
of your screen. 

Login into eJuror using your participant 
number (found on your summons above your 
name and address), the first three letters of your 
last name and your date of birth. 

Follow the prompts and answer each question.

Click “submit” and you are done! 

2. 

3. 

4. 
www.mied.uscourts.gov 

To request a paper questionnaire: 
If you do not have internet access, please call the Juror Qualification Questionnaire Request Line at 844-843-1393. Enter your 9-
digit Participant Number, which is located on your summons. You will be mailed a paper questionnaire upon your request. 

REPORTING TO THE COURTHOUSE 
Do not report unless eJuror indicates a specific date and time to report OR the recorded instructions tell you to report for jury duty. 
Jurors who report for service without being instructed to do so will not be paid. Reporting instructions are available online via eJuror or 
by phone after 6:00 p.m. one business day prior to the date listed on your summons. 

To check online via eJuror: 
1. Access the court’s website at www.mied.uscourts.gov. 
2. Click on the eJuror link. 

3. Login to eJuror using your participant number to
receive your reporting instructions. 

Click on “Current Status” link. 4. 

To check by phone: 800-755-5879 

FL-R (03/2021) 

If the message says… You are required to… 

You are not selected, call back Call back as instructed. 

You are rescheduled 
Continue to check the automated system again for 
reporting instructions as directed for the duration of 
your two week term. 

Appear for jury selection 
Report to the Courthouse as directed. See the Court’s 
website or the back of your summons for directions 
and parking information. 
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Why did I receive this summons? 
Your name was randomly selected, based on driver’s license records, state ID records and voting records from the state of Michigan. 
Jurors serving in the Flint Division of the U. S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan are selected from the following   
counties: Genessee, Lapeer, Livingston and Shiawassee.  

How long will I serve? 
Petit (trial) jurors are on call for a two week period in the Flint Division. This does not mean that you will appear every day during 
those two weeks. The period of service begins on the date listed on the enclosed summons form. If you are selected as a juror for a 
trial, please be aware that most trials at the Federal Court range from four to seven days in length.

I HAVE BEEN SELECTED TO REPORT FOR JURY SELECTION... 

What will I need to bring? 
A government issued photo ID and your summons form are required to enter the Courthouse.  There is no food service in the 
courthouse, so feel free to bring a snack or lunch with you. A refrigerator and microwave are available for your use. 

What should I wear? 
Jurors are expected to dress in a manner reflective of the formality of the court proceedings and to preserve the dignity of the Court.  Business 
casual attire is acceptable.  Clothing such as tank or halter tops, plunging necklines, shorts, t-shirts, blue jeans, sweatpants, flip-flops, or sneakers 
is not appropriate to wear while you are sitting as a juror.  You may wish to bring a sweater or jacket as temperatures can vary in the courtrooms. 
No hats are permitted in the courtroom during any proceedings.

What items are prohibited in the Courthouse? 
Firearms, pocket knives and other weapons are prohibited.  
Jurors may bring cell phones into the courthouse, but they must remain off at all times. 

Can I stay overnight? 
Jurors residing more than 65 miles (one way) from the Courthouse may come the night before and the Court will reimburse your 
lodging and subsistence expenses up to $166.00. A hotel receipt is required for reimbursement. Please make your reservations 
with the hotel directly, and not a third party site. Please tell the hotel that you are a potential juror and ask for the government rate.

Do I get paid for jury duty? 
Jurors receive $50.00 per day for each day of attendance, round-trip mileage at the current government rate (calculated as the  
shortest route from your residence) and reimbursement for actual parking up to $12.00. You will not be reimbursed for taxi or  
ride share fares. Federal employees, except Postal Service and FAA employees, are not entitled to attendance fees. Jury payment and 
reimbursements are made by check and will be mailed to your address following your jury service. Remember, if you appear for jury 
service without checking eJuror or calling the Jury Information Line (800-755-5879), YOU WILL NOT BE PAID.

How can I be excused or deferred to a different date? 
You must first complete and submit your juror qualification questionnaire. Requests MUST be made in writing including your name 
and participant number. Jurors may submit requests through eJuror on the Court’s website or by mail, fax, or email. If you are asking to 
be excused for medical reasons, you will need to submit a signed statement from your doctor. If you are employed, the note must also 
address why your medical hardships permits you to work but not serve on a jury. Requests will not be considered without a completed juror 
qualification questionnaire. 

You are not excused or deferred until you call 1-800-755-5879 to confirm your status. It is your responsibility to check your status.

BY MAIL:	 BY EMAIL: 	 BY FAX: 
U.S. District Court, Jury Administrator	 federaljury@mied.uscourts.gov	 313-234-5367
Theodore Levin United States Courthouse	 NOTE:  Email attachments must be in PDF format. 
231 W. Lafayette Blvd, 5th Floor  
Detroit, MI 48226

What happens if I don’t report? 
JURORS WHO FAIL TO APPEAR AND WHO ARE NOT EXCUSED OR DEFERRED BY THE COURT MAY BE HELD IN CONTEMPT OF COURT.  
CONTEMPT PENALTIES MAY INCLUDE A $1000 FINE, THREE DAYS IMPRISONMENT, COMMUNITY SERVICE, OR ANY COMBINATION THEREOF AS 
PROVIDED BY TITLE 28, SECTION 1866(G), UNITED STATES CODE. 




